Snapshot: St. James Parish

image

It was already 4:45 and the rain just kept on pouring outside. We were waiting to hear mass so I sat quietly and stared at the altar. Could you resist it?  I sure couldn’t so I took out my phone and captured an image of the altar as it was lit. As an architect I couldn’t help but appreciate and pick on the details of the altar, remembering everything that my old professor, Danilo Sylvestre, taught in our History of Architecture Class.

In Roman Catholic Churches, the altar is where the Sacrifice of the Mass is offered. As in all architecture, everything has a purpose. This beautiful altar radiates with warm colors and and soothing hues. The interior is eclectic, with a good mix of old and new. More on this in the days to come but for now, time to put the phone away, mass is about to start.

St. James Parish, Santiago City, Isabela
Captured on a Samsung Galaxy S4
Wordpress Mobile

Leave a comment