Tags

, , , ,

Detail: Stairs


It still drizzling outside, with a cup of coffee i started browsing through my old Flickr photos and found one of my projects way pack in 2009.

What got me excited about this project is that when I was in college, my professor in design challenged us to design a staircase that would look light and un-imposing. Something that was the total opposite of stairs being a focal point in a dwelling. Using light as a backdrop, I designed the stairs to be carried by a steel spine. The steps whose threads are made of wood, are bolted on steel plates welded to the spine. Voila! once it was a school project, now, several years later, its a functioning staircase.

Solano-Koh Residence, Tierra Pura, Quezon City
Architect: Ulysses Paredes
Engineer: Vic Partolan
Contractor: Trilogy Construction